D’Hanis Cowgirls, La Pryor Bull Dogs claim SWTJC tournament titles

Course instruction will be offered via online and hybrid distance learning modes of instruction for the Summer II Session, with courses meeting synchronously at scheduled times via Zoom or Teams. For the safety of our students and community, the May 2020 Graduation Ceremonies will be provided in a virtual format via YouTube on Saturday, July 11th. Visit our COVID-19 FAQs page for more information. SWTJC will observe summer hours through Friday, July 31st. Office hours will be Monday through Thursday from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm and Friday from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm. The current work from home environment is still in place unless instructed otherwise.

D’Hanis Cowgirls, La Pryor Bull Dogs claim SWTJC tournament titles

The D’Hanis Cowgirls reign victorious over the Leakey Lady Eagles in the 60th annual SWTJC High School Invitational Basketball Tournament with a score of 34-33.

Tournament most valuable player Koehler Ruiz scored 9 points. Mabry Herrmann topped D’Hanis with 10 points. Madi Rhodes posted seven points, while Reece Redden recorded six points.

In the boys’ division, the defending champs the La Pryor Bulldogs defeated the Knippa Rockcrushers 43-40 tourney championship game Saturday night in La Forge Hall Gym.

Erin Patiño was chosen as the tournament’s most valuable player, while Juan Valdez also
was picked to the all-tourney team.

In other tournament play the Leakey Eagles defeated the D’Hanis Cowboys, 52-43 for third place, while the Nueces Canyon Lady Panthers beat the La Pryor Lady Bulldogs, 33-21, in the girls’ division third-place game.

In the consolation title games, the Brackett Tigers pounced on the Utopia Runnin’ Buffaloes defeating them 55-23, while the Knippa Lady Rockcrushers crushed out a 55-21 win over the Sabinal Lady Yellowjackets.

Sabinal’s Yellowjackets beat the La Pryor Bulldogs junior varsity team, 64-25, in the boys’ game for seventh place, while the Utopia Lady Buffaloes outdid the Brackett Tigerettes, 52-36, in the girls’ game for seventh place.


La Pryor Bulldogs:

La Pryor Bulldogs Team Photo

D'Hanis Cowgirls:

D'Hanis Cowgirls Team Photo