President's Welcome


Welcome to Southwest Texas Junior College, one of the top ten community colleges in the United States! More →


Campus Cruiser - The Portal
Moodle WebAdvisor
ECashier Library
 TSI Pre-Assessment Activity


Register Online
Schedule of Classes

Campus Tours

Exam ScheduleSeminars
academic calendarWorkforce and Continuing Education
Testing CenterAdult Education & Literacy
High School ProgramsTransfer/Career Center Info

                 Career Coach



Donate to SWTJCTranscripts

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter
Instagram Flickr


Achieving the Dream

The Aspen Institute


Mon - May 11 -- Wed - May 13
  Spring Semester Final Exams
Thu - May 14
10:00 AM
  Grades Due
Fri - May 15
  Deadline for Summer I Admission Application
Fri - May 15
  Spring Semester Closes
Fri - May 15
3:00 PM
  Convocation Practice
Sat - May 16
9:30 AM
Wed - May 27
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  Last day to Register/Change Classes
Thu - May 28
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  Late Registration/Schedule Changes
Fri - May 29
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
  Late Registration/Schedule Changes
Mon - Jun 01
8:00 AM
  First Day of Classes - Summer I
View All Events >>>

  • 10th Annual Criminal Justice Competition

  • Faculty Association Scholarship

  • Transfer Week

  • Registration

  • FAN Scholarship

  • Recycling Survey

  • Radiologic Technology Application

  • Aspen

  • emergency messaging

News & Events

Gala raises approximately $27,000 for scholarships to SWTJC
2015 GalaOver 350 attended the 2015 Friends and Alumni Network Gala on April 11 at the Uvalde County Fairplex Events Center.

"We were able to raise $27,000 for our scholarship fund this year". FAN secretary/treasurer Wade Carpenter said. "On behalf of the entire FAN organization and gala committee I want to thank everyone who made this year's event such a great success." PHOTOS

SWTJC president Dr. Hector Gonzales welcomed and thanked members of the business community, the numerous SWTJC employees and members of the community in attendance for their continued support.

“Our success is not possible without the support and partnerships of our businesses, school districts, universities, and communities we serve. Thank you for believing in SWTJC and thank you for believing in our students.” Gonzales said.

Full Article >>>

2015 creative arts contest winners listed
Creative Arts ContestThe award's ceremony for the 34th Annual Southwest Texas Junior College Creative Arts Contest is scheduled at 6 p.m. on Thursday, April 23, in the Matthews Student Center Ballroom on the SWTJC Uvalde campus.

First through fourth places in various age groups and categories will be announced at the ceremony and winners will receive trophies and medals. A $20 cash prize will be presented an overall literary and visual arts winner in each age group.

For a complete list of winners by community click here.

Full Article >>>

SWTJC cosmetology student advances to national competition
Cosmetology student Jose Gomez placed first, receiving a gold medal, for Cosmetology Hair Styling at the Texas Skills USA Competition in Waco on March 19-21.

Gomez is a Texas National Qualifier and will be representing SWTJC at Nationals Skills USA in Louisville, Kentucky in June.

Jose Alcantar placed first in the Men's Haircutting Contest, receiving a gold medal as well.

PHOTO (l-r) Jose Alcantar, Jose Gomez.

“We are very proud of their performance and accomplishments at Texas Skills USA,” said Cosmetology Instructor, Emma Martinez.

The students also received other prizes including a set of haircutting sheers, clippers and various hair products.

SkillsUSA is a national partnership of students, teachers and industry working together to ensure that the U.S. has a skilled workforce. Nationwide, more than 300,000 students and instructors are members.

Full Article >>>

College Crossroads event draws good crowd
Over 100 students turned out for the College Crossroads event held March 31 on the Uvalde campus. PHOTO GALLERY

The event, organized by the Uvalde Student Success Center, was designed to provide students with a variety of information concerning future educational opportunities, along with offering food, refreshments, fun activities and competition, like a tug-of-war.

A team combined from members of the Gamers Club and Phi Theta Kappa won the tug-of-war over several rounds of competition.

Several four-year universities had representatives at the event, providing students with information about transfer criteria.

The event was held in the area between the Anderson Building and La Forge Hall from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Full Article >>>

Phi Theta Kappa holds spring induction at SWTJC Uvalde
GROUP PHOTO ID: New inductees into the Eta Beta Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society at SWTJC Uvalde include: (front, l-r)Sabrina Estrada, Brittany Ibarra, Illiana Silva, Darion Ramirez, Brittany Lopez, Victoria Haley. (middle) Ray Salazar, Reynaldo DeLeon, Brayleigh Murray, Valeria Mirelez, Seth Parry, Susana Flores, Juanita Aguilar. (back) Katrina Fenton, Perla Rodriguez, Brittany Sendejo, Dane Stocks, Catherine Joens, Andrea Garcia, Cristian Perez.

The Eta Beta Chapter of the international honor society Phi Theta Kappa inducted 23 new members this spring at Southwest Texas Junior College during a ceremony held on March 31 in Uvalde. PHOTOS

New members inducted include Juanita Aguilar, Reynaldo DeLeon, Sabrina Estrada, Katarina Fenton, Frailan Flores, Andrea Garcia, Victoria Haley, Brittany Ibarra, Catherine Joens, Brittany Lopez and Valeria Mirelez.

Also inducted were, Brayleigh Murry, Christian Perez, James Ramirez, Darion Ramirez, Perla Rodriguez, Ray Salazar, Brittany Sendejo, Illiana Silva, Dane Stocks, Dylan Stone and Thomas Uptergrove.

Full Article >>>

SWTJC rodeo team host annual kids rodeo
Kids rodeoApproximately 650 students from pre-k and kindergarten attended the Eighth Annual Kids Rodeo hosted by the SWTJC Rodeo Team.

"My team members really did a good job this year," coach Roy Angermiller said. "We even had our very own rodeo dogs out in the arena." PHOTOS

The event held March 25 began with a prayer, followed by the playing of the National Anthem, as rodeo team member Rozlyn Reeves carried the American flag on horseback.

Prior to the first event, announcer John Paul Schuster gave a brief history of how rodeo began.

This year's kid's rodeo included calf roping, goat tying, team roping, barrel racing and bull riding. Schuster introduced members of the team as they participated in the various events.

Schuster thanked the county for allowing the event to be staged at the County Fairplex Arena.

Full Article >>>

SWTJC Faculty Association accepting applications for scholarships
Deadline for applying for the SWTJC Faculty Association Scholarship is April 24.

According to scholarship committee chairperson Bonny Herndon, a $500 scholarship will be awarded to four students.

“Scholarships will be awarded to two students enrolled in an academic field of study and two who have chosen a technical major, at each of our three main campuses,” administrative information technology instructor Bonny Herndon said.

Applications are available online at Additionally, students may obtain an application from any SWTJC Faculty Association member or by emailing Herndon at Requirements are listed on the applications.DOWNLOAD APPLICATION

For more information on these scholarships contact Herndon at 591-7237.

Full Article >>>

Visit News & Events Page