Top faculty and staff honored during annual Deanís Breakfast

Email this article 05/15/2017

Uvalde, TX, May 15 – April Ruhmann and Landra Fowler were honored as top faculty members for the 2016-2017 school year during the annual SWTJC Dean's Breakfast held May 12 in Uvalde. PHOTOS

Fowler received the SWTJC Faculty Association Teaching Excellence Award. She is a physical education instructor and coordinator of Kinesiology department on the Uvalde campus. Wildlife management instructor Bob Zaiglan made the presentation to Fowler.

Ruhmann received the Outstanding Faculty Member Award presented annually by the SWTJC administration. She is an instructor of economics in Uvalde. Dr. Mark Underwood vice president of academic affairs presented the award.

Stephanie Cerna and Irma Garcia received the award for Outstanding Professional Staff Member Award.

Cerna is the academic advising director, and Garcia is the business office director.

Angie Gaucin, information technology applications manager, was the recipient of the Outstanding Support Staff Member Award.

Seven SWTJC employees who are retiring this year were also recognized including Yvonne G. Martinez, 36 years of service; San Juana G. Trevino, 35 years of service; Alberto Garza, 33 years of service; Estella C. Luna, 31 years of service; Marilyn R. Casson, 25 years of service; Barbara J. Compton, 20 years of service and Terrie D. Wilson, 17 years of service.

Various SWTJC faculty and staff received service pins from their respective vice presidents and directors during the annual event.

Jack Lampe received a 45-year service, while Nancy Masterson and Carlos Cazares received 35-year pins.

Delia Esquivel was honored for 30 years of service.

Twenty-five-year service pins were presented to Marilyn Casson, Lidia Alvarez, Oscar S. Garcia, Fela Garza, and Lorena Lopez.

Receiving 20-year pins were Jan Burchfield, Barbara Compton, Terri Tucker, Rob Fowler and David Conde.

Honored for 15 years of service were SWTJC trustee Tony T. Moreno. Lucas Limbrick, Carlos Ramos, Idalia DeLa Cruz, Emma Martinez, Eloy Montalvo, Sandra Colombo, Maria DeHoyos, Lizabel (Liz) Garcia, Steve Garner, Melissa Lopez, Blanca Martinez, Cecilia Padilla, Claudia De La Garza, Jaime Sierra, and Cesar Talamantes.

The list of 10-year service pin recipients includes SWTJC trustee Anita Shackelford, Landra Fowler, Geraldine Goosen, Stephen Schomber, Ramiro Flores, Arturo Mancha, Ramiro Flores, Sonia Angela Alvarez, Wade Carpenter, Juan Castillo, Andrea Flores, Savanna Hernandez, Omar Iracheta, Ismael Martinez, Julie Pace Monsivais, Dora Padilla, Gladue Tafolla.

Receiving their 5-year service pins were Raul Cano, Jami Watts, Albert Ybarra, Michael Cortez, Chassity Dean, Oscar Gaytan, Brenda McCalip, Yolanda Yvette Hernandez, Nettie Martinez, Manuel Ruiz, Damacio Sanchez, Clarissa Diaz, and Charlotte Yeldell.

President's Welcome

H Gonzales

Welcome to Southwest Texas Junior College, one of the top ten community colleges in the United States! More →


CampusCruiser Portal
Office 365 SysAid Help Desk
WebAdvisor eCashier
Moodle Library
 TSI Pre-Assessment Activity


Register Online
Schedule of Classes
Time Permits
Campus Tours
Request Information

Exam ScheduleSeminars
academic calendarWorkforce and Continuing Education
Testing CenterAdult Education & Literacy
High School ProgramsTransfer/Career Center Info

                 Career Coach



Donate to SWTJCTranscripts

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter
Instagram Flickr Photo Gallery Snapchat


Achieving the Dream

The Aspen Institute